The Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment (DPIPWE) is responsible for the sustainable management and protection of Tasmania's natural and cultural assets for the benefit of Tasmanian communities and the economy.

The Department's activities guide and support the use and management of Tasmania's land and water resources and protect and promote its natural, built and cultural assets. The Department is also responsible for delivering the services that support primary industry development and for the protection of the State's relative disease and pest-free status.


  1. Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens The Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens is sited on the Queens Domain (a ridge of modified remnant grassy woodland adjacent to Government House) and is just a short walk of approximately 2 kilometres from Hobart's CBD. The Domain is a significant natural and cultural heritage landscape...
  2. Tasmanian Agricultural Insect Collection TAIC is managed by the Entomology Team in the Plant Biosecurity & Diagnostics Branch of the Biosecurity Tasmania Division.
  3. Tasmanian Seed Conservation Centre The Tasmanian Seed Conservation Centre is a seed bank facility based at the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens. It was opened in 2005 as part of international Millennium Seed Bank Project. The seed bank is focused on the native flora of Tasmania, with a particular emphasis on Tasmania's Rare and Threatened plants. A small number of introduced weeds and garden exotics are also held...

Usage statistics


Digitised records

Looking up... the number of records that can be accessed through the Atlas of Living Australia.

Click to view records for the Tasmanian Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment.

Metadata last updated on 2017-09-21 00:51:24.0